United States Senate

WASHINGTON, DC 20510

May 7, 2024

The Honorable Chris Van Hollen, Chairman Subcommittee on Financial Services & General Government Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Room S-128, The Capitol Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Bill Hagerty, Ranking Member Subcommittee on Financial Services & General Government Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Room S-128, The Capitol Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Van Hollen and Ranking Member Hagerty:

We write to request that no less than \$325 million be provided for the Department of the Treasury's Community Development Financial Institutions Fund (CDFI Fund) in the fiscal year (FY) 2025 Financial Services and General Government Appropriations measure. The CDFI Fund generates economic opportunity in distressed areas by expanding access to credit, capital, and financial services through the investment in and assistance to a nationwide network of Community Development Financial Institutions (CDFIs).

This year marks the 30th Anniversary of passage of the Riegle Community Development and Regulatory Improvement Act of 1994 (Pub. L. 103-325), which established the CDFI Fund. Since then, it has awarded more than \$7.4 billion to CDFIs, community development organizations, and financial institutions through its funding programs, allocated \$76 billion in tax credits through the New Markets Tax Credit Program, and more than \$2.5 billion in bonds has been guaranteed through the CDFI Bond Guarantee Program.

Through its unique public-private partnership model, the CDFI Fund's award recipients successfully leverage billions in private sector investment to create jobs, build affordable housing and essential community facilities, as well as invest in neighborhood revitalization initiatives. For example, since 2010 CDFI Program Financial Assistance award recipients have originated more than \$170 billion in loans and investments—all in communities lacking access to traditional lending or banking institutions or experiencing pervasive disinvestment. These resources have financed nearly 585,000 businesses, as well as the development of more than 425,000 affordable housing units.

In addition to their extensive history of investment in rural and urban communities across all 50 states—as well as the District of Columbia, Guam, and Puerto Rico—CDFIs in recent years have more than proven their value as economic first responders and catalysts for private sector collaboration. The modest increase in requested CDFI Fund appropriations—roughly \$1 million over FY 2024 spending— alongside an increased role from the private sector, ensures CDFIs can build on their record of investment in underserved communities. The amount requested also ensures that the CDFI Fund will continue to support innovations that advance the technology capabilities of CDFIs, increase liquidity and access to capital markets, and foster efficiencies in the community development field.

It is for these reasons we strongly urge the continued investment in the work of the CDFI Fund by providing it with an FY 2025 appropriation of at least \$325 million.

Sincerely,

Mark R. Warner

United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar

United States Senator

Jeanne Shaheen

United States Senator

Thomas R. Carper

United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono

United States Senator

Ja**ć**k Reed

United States Senator

Tammy Duckworth

United States Senator

Cory A. Booker

United States Senator

Sheldon Whitehouse
United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Tina Smith
United States Senator

Bill Cassidy, M.D.

Bill Cassidy, M.D.

United States Senator

Tammy Baldwin
United States Senator

Raphael Warnock United States Senator

United States Senator

Robert Menendez
United States Senator

United States Senator

Joe Manchin III
United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

Ron Wyden
United States Senator

Gary Ceters
United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Edward J. Markey United States Senator

Tim Kaine
United States Senator

Maria Cantwell United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator



Sherrod Brown
United States Senator

Jon Ossoff United States Senator

John Hickenlooper United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren United States Senator

Ben Ray Lujan
United States Senator

Christopher A. Coons United States Senator

Peter Welch

United States Senator

Margaret Wood Hassan United States Senator

Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator

Robert P. Casey, Jr. United States Senator

United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

United States Senator

Mike Crapo

United States Senator

Jacky Rosen

United States Senator

Debbie Stabenow **United States Senator**

United States Senator

Mike Rounds

United States Senator

Martin Heinrich

United States Senator